Angel Answers: Who Are the 7 Fallen Angels?

With more than 230,000,000 practicing Christians, the United States has the largest population of Christians in the world.

Angels are a vital part of many modern religions, including Christianity, Judaism, and Islam. They also feature in ancient religions such as paganism. Today we will be discussing the canonic fallen angels of Christianity.

Whether you are religious or not, there is a rich seam of knowledge to be gleaned from the cautionary tales of fallen angels. Symbolic of sin, their flight from the righteous path demonstrates a wavering to which we can all relate.

Read on to learn more about the seven fallen angels.

Origins of the Fallen Angels

According to Christian lore, angels are otherworldly or spiritual beings, often sent to Earth by God to convey a message or do his bidding.

Just like humans, God bestowed his angels with free will. God wanted the spiritual beings He created to serve Him and act as His envoys to Earth. However, led by Satan, they rejected their holy mission and were cast down to Hell.

The fallen angels are followers of Satan. According to the bible, “Satan, with his army of fallen angels and demons, are determined to corrupt and destroy all that is good and godly.” 1 Peter 5:8.

1. Lucifer

God created Lucifer to be one of the most beautiful and pure Angels. In Latin, Lucifer means “morning-star or “light-bringer.” This was the name given to him by God and is used to refer to him before his fall from grace.

Lucifer is the devil. He chose to reject the will of God and corrupted the other fallen angels. Lucifer represents the deadly sin of pride because he was too proud to serve his creator.

Lucifer and the other fallen angels did not want to live under God’s rules. After an unsuccessful rebellion in which he attempted to take control of Heaven, Lucifer was banished. He established his kingdom of Hell and became known as Satan.

2. Mammon

Mammon is the fallen angel of greed. Mammon is Hebrew for “money.”

Medieval writers interpreted Mammon to be a demon and a follower of Satan. However, many modern interpretations consider Mammon to be a symbolic personification of the greed of men and representative of its incompatibility with faith.

According to Christian folklore, Mammon would often take the form of a wolf, with wolves being associated with greed during the middle ages. As a theological device, Mammon serves to warn of the dangers of worshiping false idols and money.

3. Asmodeus

Asmodeus is a demon prince who represents lust.

As the personification of lust and rage, Asmodeus works to cause strife between man and wife, cause infidelity, and sexual deviancy. In the Book of Tobit (a Jewish scripture concerning the tests of God), Asmodeus is in love with a woman called Sarah.

He is jealous and rage-filled, killing anyone who tries to marry her. Eventually, the covetous demon is defeated by the protagonist Tobias with the help of the archangel Raphael. Asmodeus features in many other religious texts and is sometimes described as “the worst of the demons.”

4. Leviathan

The Leviathan is a demonic, serpentine sea creature. It represents the deadly sin of envy.

Christian theologians proposed that the Leviathan would eat the bodies of the damned when they died. By eating His followers and bringing chaos to God’s creation, the Leviathan struck corruption into the hearts of men.

Per the Hebrew Bible, the Leviathan will be slain by God’s hand on the last day, making way for a new and uncorrupted Earth. The Leviathan is the embodiment of all evil and a direct servant to the devil.

5. Beelzebub

Beelzebub is one of Satan’s demonic forms. Also known as the “lord of the flies,” he represents gluttony.

The typical depiction of Beelzebub shows him with angel wings, sometimes raining down firey arrows on the sinners below. In the Book of Solomon, Beelzebub claims to cause destruction through the will of the tyrants.

He is often associated with hedonism and gluttony, especially at the expense of others. He is also the bringer of war, murder, and moral and religious discrepancies. Beelzebub excites lust in the celibate, such as priests.

6. Ramiel

Ramiel was one of the 20 leaders of the fallen angels. He fell from grace when God cast them out of Heaven.

If Satan fell to Earth with the flash of a lightning bolt, then Ramiel was the thunder. In fact, Ramiel means “thunder of God” in Hebrew. Before he was expelled from Heaven, Ramiel was a Watcher. Watchers are special kinds of angels who watch over and guard the kingdoms of Heaven and Earth.

God redeemed Ramiel. He wanted to go back to serving the Lord, so he pleaded for forgiveness. Eventually, God allowed Ramiel back into Heaven, where he became an important archangel. As an angel, he represents hope and forgiveness.

7. Belphegor

Belphegor is one of the seven kings of Hell. In Christian tradition, he represents the sin of sloth.

Belphegor entices and seduces his victims with the promise of new technology or get-rich-quick schemes. By manipulating the laziness of men, he seeks to tempt people from a righteous path of hard work and perseverance.

Some theologians believe that Belphegor was Hell’s ambassador to France. As Mary Magdalene is a prominent patron saint in France, she is considered his main adversary.

When Lucifer declared war on Heaven, Belphegor didn’t join his side like most fallen angels. However, nor did he fight for God, and so he was cast down to Hell.

Fallen Angels: From Heaven to Hell

So, that’s the 101 on the seven fallen angels. Once loyal servants of God, their rebellion and ultimate defeat saw them banished to the kingdom of Hell.

We can all relate to the sins represented by the fallen angels once in a while. Theirs is a cautionary tale of vice and virtue. Their importance in Christian and other religious traditions has helped shape the moral world we live in today.

Did you enjoy this article? If so, be sure to check out our other posts for everything you need to know about religion, lifestyle, business, and more.

Show More

Writing Views

Writingviews is a pioneering website that tends to explore the writing skills of young writers. The writers are encouraged to put their cultural, political, literature, and scientific ideas in the form of blogs. The world needs your ideas as they do matter and we provide you a platform.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button